WaKan Project Website Forum Index WaKan Project Website
Forums about WaKan and Japanese & Chinese language

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A Journey to Japanese understandings

Post new topic   Reply to topic    WaKan Project Website Forum Index -> Japanese language
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mateiru

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:35 am    Post subject: A Journey to Japanese understandings Reply with quote

Basically I will get to the point, that japanese isn't just any language that can be mastered with the snap of your fingers..it takes a lot of work to begin with and personally I am still learning now as a semi rookie.

I guess you can say this is my own way kind of thing lesson that i'm giving you, but anyway here is something you should know:

First, don't get CONFUSED with Hiragana (ひらがな) and Katakana(カタカナ) as the one whole alphabet system! Hiragana is the alphabet itself, but Katakana is none meaningful characters that are mainly used to illustrate names, places or objects.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Example:

Watashi no namae (Mateiru) desu
私 の 名前 ( まている)  です。

Translation:
It is my name Mateiru.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
What you see above is Wrong! This translates perfectly...but if you we're in japan people probably wouldn't know that is your name?!Because you see the name I added in between the parentheses? Well, inside it's written in Hiragana opposed to Katakana. When you write your name, it should always be with katakana.

So now I will show you the correct way to write this now:

Correct example:

私 の 名前 (マテイル)  です。

Translation:
It is my name Mateiru.